Bio (english)

"Azadeh obviously has a fantastic technique. But she also has this truthfulness and beauty of sound, which reflects what is inside the music. This is very rare; not just for a young person, but for anybody." These effusive words come from none other than Nigel Kennedy. At fifteen years old, Azadeh Maghsoodi played Bach's Double Concerto with the star violinist at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival and gained international acclaim overnight.

At the age of six, the native of Lübeck with Iranian roots picked up a violin for the first time and took lessons with Britta von der Lippe. At twelve, she became a Jungstudentin (a program for talented young musicians to be a student with a professor prior to finishing high school) with Prof. Maria Egelhof at the Musikhochschule Lübeck. She supplemented her musical development with master classes with Zakhar Bron, Nora Chastain, Werner Scholz, Igor Ozim, Baiba Skride, Pavel Vernikov, Thomas Brandis, Jacqueline Ross, Isabelle Van Keulen, Elisa Kawaguti and Didier Lockwood, among many others. With the help of a Gerd Bucerius scholarship, she was able to take lessons with David Takeno at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama London in 2010/2011. From 2011-2015 she was a chamber music lecturer at the "International Music Academy Poeke" in Belgium.

Maghsoodi is a multiple 1st national prize winner with highest scores at Jugend musiziert, a popular Germany-wide youth music competition. She was also awarded 1st prize and the special prize for best interpretation of a classical work in 2006 at the Queen Sophie Charlotte International Competition and won the NDR Culture Prize in 2007 and 2009. In 2012 she won a 3rd prize and the special prize of the Hans Gál Society at the International Interpretation Competition “Verfemte Musik”.

In March 2008, Azadeh Maghsoodi, together with other scholarship holders, performed at the Foundation's Chamber Music Festival on board the MS Europa during a concert tour of the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben. The foundation also repeatedly presented its scholarship holders in its concert series "Foyer Junger Künstler". 

In 2010, the young musician toured Germany as a duo partner of Nigel Kennedy. She also performed at the traditional "NoRuz Met Gala" at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York in the same year. As a soloist, she has performed with ensembles such as the Neubrandenburg Philharmonic Orchestra, the North German Philharmonic Orchestra Rostock, the Polish Chamber Orchestra and the Junge Kammerorchester Lübeck. Concert tours have taken her to the USA, Italy, Russia, the Czech Republic and the Baltic States. She has also had multiple appearances on radio and television programs.

With the Cuarteto SolTango, which she co-founded, Maghsoodi has performed at numerous festivals, including the Oberstdorfer Musiksommer and the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival. Since 2014 she has been a welcome guest at the renowned PODIUM Festival Esslingen. In the summer of 2015, she made her first guest appearance in the "Junge Elite" (young elite) series at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. From 2017-2019 Azadeh Maghsoodi was the primary violinist of the Holsten Quartet. Currently she performs throughout Germany, most notably with her duo projects "MoonBach" and "Tangorientales".

Maghsoodi is a former scholarship holder of the Oscar und Vera Ritter-Stiftung, Ad Infinitum Foundation and Possehl Stiftung, among others. As a long-time fellow of the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben, she has had the pleasure of playing instruments by Joseph Gagliano (Naples 1795) and Lorenzo Ventapane (Naples 1790), among others, as long-term rentals. Currently she plays a violin by Stefan-Peter Greiner (Bonn 1998).

Bio

"Azadeh hat eine fantastische Technik. Aber sie hat auch diese Wahrhaftigkeit und Schönheit des Tons, die zeigt, was wirklich in der Musik steckt. So etwas ist sehr selten; nicht nur für einen jungen Menschen, sondern für jeden Musiker." Diese überschwänglichen Worte stammen von keinem geringeren als Nigel Kennedy. Mit 15 Jahren spielte Azadeh Maghsoodi mit dem Star-Geiger Bachs Doppelkonzert beim Schleswig Holstein Musik Festival und fand über Nacht internationale Beachtung.

Mit sechs nimmt die gebürtige Lübeckerin mit persischen Wurzeln erstmals eine Geige in die Hand und erhält Unterricht bei Britta von der Lippe; mit zwölf wird sie Jungstudentin bei Prof. Maria Egelhof an der Musikhochschule ihrer Heimatstadt. Ihren musikalischen Werdegang ergänzte sie durch Meisterkurse, u.a. bei Zakhar Bron, Nora Chastain, Werner Scholz, Igor Ozim, Baiba Skride, Pavel Vernikov, Thomas Brandis, Jacqueline Ross, Isabelle Van Keulen, Elisa Kawaguti und Didier Lockwood. Mithilfe eines Gerd Bucerius-Stipendiums erhielt sie 2010/2011 Unterricht bei David Takeno an der Guildhall School of Music and Drama London. Von 2011-2015 war sie Kammermusik-Dozentin bei der „International Music Academy Poeke“, Belgien.

Die junge Geigerin ist mehrfache 1. Bundespreisträgerin mit Höchstpunktzahl bei Jugend musiziert. Beim Internationalen Wettbewerb Königin Sophie Charlotte wurde sie 2006 mit dem 1. Preis und dem Sonderpreis für die beste Interpretation eines klassischen Werkes ausgezeichnet und gewann 2007 und 2009 den NDR Kultur Preis. 2012 erspielte sie sich einen 3. Preis und den Sonderpreis der Hans Gál- Society beim Internationalen Interpretationswettbewerb Verfemte Musik.

Im März 2008 gestaltete Azadeh Maghsoodi auf einer Konzertreise der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben zusammen mit weiteren Stipendiaten das Kammermusikfest der Stiftung an Bord von MS Europa. Darüber hinaus präsentierte die Stiftung ihre Stipendiaten wiederholt in ihrer Konzertreihe "Foyer Junger Künstler". 

2010 ging Azadeh Maghsoodi als Duo-Partnerin von Nigel Kennedy auf Deutschland-Tournee. Ausserdem trat sie im selben Jahr bei der traditionellen "NoRuz Met-Gala" im Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York auf. Solistisch spielte sie u.a. mit den Neubrandenburger Philharmonikern, der Norddeutschen Philharmonie Rostock, dem Polish Chamber Orchestra und dem Jungen Kammerochester Lübeck. Konzertreisen führten sie u.a. nach Amerika, Italien, Russland, Tschechien und im Baltikum. Sie war mehrfach im Rundfunk und Fernsehen zu erleben.

Mit dem von ihr mit gegründeten Cuarteto SolTango trat sie bei zahlreichen Festivals wie u.a. beim Oberstdorfer Musiksommer oder beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival auf. Seit 2014 ist sie gern gesehener Gast beim renommierten PODIUM Festival Esslingen. Im Sommer 2015 gastierte sie erstmals in der "Junge Elite"- Reihe bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg Vorpommern. Von 2017-2019 war Azadeh Maghsoodi Primgeigerin des Holsten-Quartetts. Aktuell konzertiert sie deutschlandweit vor allem mit ihren Duo-Projekten "MoonBach" und "Tangorientales".

Sie ist u.a. ehemalige Stipendiatin der Oscar-und Vera-Ritter Stiftung, Ad Infinitum Foundation und Possehl Stiftung. Als langjährige Stipendiatin der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben spielte Azadeh Maghsoodi u.a. Instrumente von Joseph Gagliano (Neapel 1795) und Lorenzo Ventapane (Neapel 1790). Derzeit spielt sie eine Violine von Stefan-Peter Greiner (Bonn 1998).